The Greatest Love Of All

There will always be a temptation to worship the created things rather than the creator (Romans 1:25). But as much as sex, marriage, career success, etc. are worshipped in our culture, they make lousy gods. The beauty and goodness of God’s creation was always meant to point us back to Him. They were never meant to be a substitute for Him.

As I wrestle with my “prolonged” season of singleness I’ve been challenged to question my views about singleness. Is it a burden? A consolation price? An unwanted gift?

What does it mean that the Bible upholds singleness as a viable way of living? What does it mean that the author of our faith lived his life as a single man? What does it mean that there will be no marriage in Heaven?

For certain, marriage is good. Parenthood is good. But so is singleness. Singleness is good.

Singleness may be a road less traveled. But there is no shame in being single.

In all your ways, acknowledge Him (Proverbs 3:6)… in your dating, your mate selection, your career choices. And He will direct your path.

It is not worth compromising values and beliefs in the pursuit of happiness…the pursuit of finding happiness in created things.

So, holding fast to one’s convictions may mean being single. Perhaps, this is God’s provision in a fallen world that ceases to acknowledge Him.

My worth and my value are not determined by my relationship status or whether or not I ever become someone’s mother.

My life was given value when I was knit together in my mother’s womb, being made in the image of God (Psalm 139:13-14).

It is a lie to believe that any person can give my life meaning and purpose outside of God.

I am not broken. I am whole.

I am at my best when I embrace that the greatest love of all is to know God and to follow Him completely.

If this journey leads to an exchanging of vows before friends and family, great. But if singleness continues to be my path, I am learning to embrace it and am seeking to find blessing in a road less traveled.

Photo by Victoria Emerson

-CS Woman

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment