Lessons To My Younger Self-Part 3

LessonsPerson

 

(To read the first part of the series, go to Part 1, Part 2.)

Serve Christ. Period.

Regardless of whether you are married or single, God may call you to church ministry, to volunteer, become a professional break dancer, etc. The possibilities are endless. 🙂

However, when it comes to singles, a number of us are encouraged to see this time as an opportunity for undistracted service to the Lord.  This idea is true and it’s biblical, but pointing out this truth may actually cause singles to focus on the wrong thing.

I am called to follow and serve Christ not because I am single.  I am called to serve Him because I am a Christ follower.  If my singleness allows me to serve in a different capacity than the married couples around me, that’s great, but my singleness should not be the motivation for my service.

Overall, I wish more people would have encouraged me to serve God. Period.

So that’s my challenge to you. Today, how is God asking you to serve?

To be continued…Part 4

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Nicole L Taylor

     /  August 17, 2013

    I agree with the statement that all are called to serve Christ regardless of position in life. What I am learning in my singleness is that I can devote more to Christ because I don’t have to go home, take care of my husband, (I don’t have children either) take care of the kids, tell someone that I am going to come home late tonight, check in with someone regarding how the money is spent (not to suggest that this is asking for permission, but everyone need to be on the same page to prevent shortages and to stay on budget), decided if I can be away from my spouse on a trip and for how long, take care of someone else in sickness, etc. There are some married Christian women who do wonderful things in the church, but really need to spend more time at home. We single women don’t have that as an issue. I think that we all also need to remember that whatever we do as unto the Lord will be in the service of the Lord. Being a good wife and mother to the glory of God is an act of service as well just like being a Christian Single Woman.

    Reply
  2. Nicole L Taylor

     /  August 17, 2013

    Excellent topic btw. I read all of your posts.

    Reply
  1. Lessons To My Younger Self-Part 4 | Chronicles of a Single Christian Single
  2. Lessons To My Younger Self-Part 2 | Chronicles of a Single Christian Single

Leave a Reply

