Knowing The Will of God

Bible

I have hidden your word in my heart that I may not sin against you. Psalm 119:11

At some point in your life you’ll find yourself at the proverbial crossroad, wondering…which way do I go? Perhaps you may feel a nudge in a particular direction, but more often than not, you may be met with silence. Believe it or not, there are some tried and true ways to discern the will of God.

Back in the day, I had the opportunity to do Experiencing God a few times.  Henry Blackaby, the author, had some good ideas about discerning God’s will. He says that God speaks through the

  • Holy Spirit
  • The Bible
  • Prayer
  • Circumstances

Specifically, when it comes to reading the Bible, I’ll admit I’m not always as consistent as I should be. However, I’ve started to use some practical  Bible Study methods that have helped me  to be more consistent.

There’s an App for that

A few months ago, I got my first iPhone…RIP blackberry :(. If you have a smart phone or a tablet, you should check into getting one of the many Bible apps that have been created.  I personally use YouVersion.  (You can also access YouVersion via the web if that format works better.)

With YouVersion, you can subscribe to a number of Bible studies (devotionals).  Some are short. Some are long.  You can also set up your account to remind you to do your reading throughout the week.

Another cool feature is that you can use the audio function for the day’s reading. This function has been convenient because I can listen to my daily devotion while I’m getting ready for work  or during my commute in the car.

*There are many apps to choose from, but below are links to one’s that I have personally used.

YouVersioneBible

Get On The Bus

So now that you’ve found a good Bible app or a good devotion series, what do you do next? How do you actually study the Bible?

Years ago, I went to a woman’s retreat at my church.  The speaker shared some tips about how to study the Bible. Specifically she called her method the Bible Bus Stop. (Although she references the One Year Bible as her devotion source, her tips can be applied to any Bible passage.) Overall, she encourages readers to be intentional in their study of God’s word.  In addition, she lists a number of questions to ask yourself as you are reading to help you apply what you’ve learned (see below).

Bus Stop Guide

  • What did I learn about God today in my reading?
  • What did I learn about life?
  • What did I learn about myself, attitudes, priorities, fears, failures, or desires?
  • Is there a lesson that I can apply today?
  • What can I take from my reading and pray back to God for understanding, instructions, or help?

So, if you have struggled with consistent Bible reading, hopefully these tips will help.

Overall, I think it’s important to spend time reading the word of God.  After all, how can I obey God or live out His will for my life if I don’t take the time to read His instruction manual…a.k.a the Bible? 🙂

If you have a devotion tip or sources that have been helpful to you, please leave a comment in the comment section.

Image:created with graphics from  FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Great post, great suggestions!

    Reply
  2. fishcone

     /  July 11, 2013

    Great post! And the list you suggested are primary ways to building a relationship with God. 🙂 good stuff!
    Tool’s that were helpful for me were, a “daily bread” book, and good worship music. Depending on what type of music you’re into, I’d like to suggest “Misty Edwards” “Only A Shadow.” It is a great CD. Thanks for the post, it was a good read.

    Reply
  1. Lessons To My Younger Self-Part 2 | Chronicles of a Single Christian Single

Leave a Reply

