Zac Efron* And The Rise Of The Cougar

Been There Done That: Dating A Younger Man

Verdict: Is age nothing but a number? It depends.

Even though I’ve essentially watched all of the High School Musical movies and I do enjoy the occasional Justin Bieber/Selena Gomez tune, I am not in denial about my age.

Before I turned 30, most of the men that I took interest in and the ones who seemed interested in me, tended to be older.  However, at times, the script has flipped.

Some of it makes sense, the older you get, the more likely it is that your peers are already married. So the people who share the same stage of life tend to be younger.

The Good:

  1. Being open to a younger man may give you more dating options.  Besides, it’s not completely fair to shut someone down just because of their age.
  2. You might meet a really good guy.

Although things did not work out with me and my younger guy, it was a pretty positive dating experience.

The Bad:

  1. Depending on how big the age gap is and where you are in life, you may be navigating two different life stages and possibly two different levels of maturity. Unfortunately, those differences can and may drive the two of you apart.
  2. He may still live at home.

If your boyfriend still lives at home, it can be hard to judge his character and/or life management skills. After all, how do you know if he can successfully take care of a future family, if he’s not currently managing his own household?

Disclaimer-There are valid reasons for why a man may be living at home. (e.g. taking care of a sick parent, saving money while trying to pay off student loans, temporarily unemployed, etc.) However, for some men, it’s a sign of arrested development.

So what say you?  Have you done it? If not, why not?

* Why Mr. Efron in the title? His post Musical work seems to consistently pair him with leading ladies who are some years his senior. (e.g. Me and Orson Welles, Lucky One, etc.)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Christina

     /  September 9, 2012

    I never ever wanted to date someone younger…lol…but I started to realize that i had to be open to what God might have for me. I had met some really mature younger guys & a good friend is married to a younger guy so i was hopeful. I’ve dated 1 younger guy recently & have been interested in another. Neither worked. Both were charming & the outgoing personality that I’m attracted too, but come to find out neither were in the same life stage. Neither of them were at the same maturity level emotionally or spiritually. That’s why it didn’t work. The one I didn’t date led me on. He was 6 years younger. Believe me! I had no intention of being interested in a guy that much younger. I tried really hard to guard my heart, but he relentlessly flirted with me. When I finally got up the courage to take him up on his offer to play tennis, no response. Not even a polite brush off like “sorry, but I’m busy.” That was a bad experience. I broke it off with the other because of reasons mentioned earlier. That was a better experience because I knew God was telling me he wasn’t the guy for me. Why was I interested in these guys? Honestly, because they paid attention to me & they were cute & funny. Most guys that are interested in me are wierd! I don’t know who God has for me, but I do know that I don’t want to be in a bad marriage! Bottom line…I don’t think there’s a right or wrong answer to dating a younger guy. God is the ultimate matchmaker. I’m not going to limit my options, but I am going to be selective, deepen my relationship with God & try not to get emotionally attached before I really know the guy. I know it’s hard, but that’s my plan as of now. So, for now I’m still waiting & trusting…sigh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

