Chronicles of a Newlywed…Part 2

Guest Blogger: Lindsey


To read the first part of the series, go here  Chronicles of a Newlywed… Part 1

Turning Point

For my 34th birthday, much to my mom’s dismay, I left town by myself and checked into a B&B in a nearby city. It poured down rain for 2 days straight, so the only thing I could do was read and journal. Even though I had grown up in church and been a Christian since age 7, I seldom spent time alone with God without distractions. But this time, I prayed, journaled, and cried for 48 hours.

This time I heard Him.

I very clearly heard God tell me, “Your life is not going to look like everyone else’s. But that does not mean it will not be good and for My glory.”

He did not promise me marriage or anything I wanted. He just promised that He had me.

A Change Of Heart

The next few years were different. My perspective changed and I began to search out opportunities to live abundantly.

My thought was- If THIS life of singleness is what God has for me, then what do I want it to look like? If I don’t have a husband and family to pour myself into, what am I going to devote myself to-because it can’t be ME any longer.

So I…

  • Changed jobs and moved to a smaller church with single women much younger than me.  (This group gave me the opportunity to minister/mentor.)
  •  Had fun with several months of online dating…kind of. 🙂 I promised myself I would be open to any and all opportunities put in front of me.

I am not saying I never questioned or despaired-I did, more often than I want to admit. But I learned to surrender my will and my plans-every day/every hour sometimes -to God’s will for me. I also let go of the anger and bitterness that I had been hanging on to.

Small World

When I worked at my first teaching job, at the age of 23, there was a senior boy in my English class named Brian. He didn’t stick out to me then, but I knew he was a strong Christian kid from a great family. Brian graduated and went onto Hardin-Simmons, got a seminary degree, and then went to China as a Journeyman for 2 years. Post graduation, we became Facebook friends. And when he went to China, I became a part of his email and newsletter chain.

Recently, last Spring Break, I was on Facebook when I noticed a new status update from Brian. He mentioned that he’d be coming into town soon. When I saw that, I reached out to him to see if we could meet up for coffee.  I wanted to hear about his time in China, since his newsletters made it sound amazing.

We met up on St. Patrick’s Day and talked for 4 hours. I was surprised at how cute and well-spoken he was. I also admired his passion for  ministry and his passion for going back to the mission field. That night, he sent me a text to ask me to dinner.  And that night, we started dating.

This relationship was different from the start. Even though I doubted that the mission field was something I could ever see myself doing, I had more peace about this relationship than with anyone I had had before! I prayed about the relationship constantly and so did he. In January we got engaged. In May we were married in a beautiful garden ceremony.

Newly Married

I’m still really new to marriage and I have to admit that I was very nervous going in. I had become pretty set in my ways as a single. I was worried that the day to day of constantly having another person around would drive me nuts (even if I did love him)! It does take some getting used to, but it’s more because I am surprised everyday by how selfish and prideful I really am.

I think if I could say anything to my younger single self it would be, get out of your own head and bubble and quit making life all about you. Just let go. Let yourself have some hope in what God is doing without the fear of being disappointed. He will be faithful.

The time I was longing the most for marriage, Brian was in college and seminary and going through his own spiritual journey overseas. The thought that God needed to mature my future husband during all those years of waiting never crossed my mind.

The most amazing thing about my story is that Brian and I want to go back to China to minister, in the next few years, with the coffee company he is creating. The thought that God could use someone like me, who has so little faith, to reach people who have never heard of Him is incredible. I thank God daily for my husband and my marriage, but more than that, I thank Him for how He has revealed His character and grace every step of the way.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. So cute….they say that couples start to look like each other, well they already kind of do! So do my best friend and her fiance, who will be getting married in a couple of weeks 🙂

    Reply
  2. Jamy

     /  July 30, 2012

    Enjoyed reading your beautiful story Lindsey! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. Nicole Taylor

     /  August 3, 2012

    Love this story. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Christina

     /  September 9, 2012

    Thanks so much for sharing Lindsey! This was very encouraging!

    Reply
  1. Chronicles of a Newlywed… Part 1 « Chronicles of a Single Christian Single
  2. Chronicles of a single Christian Man Part 1 « Chronicles of a Single Christian Single

Leave a Reply

