Love Is Blind

Been There Done That: The Blind Date

The blind date can be tricky.  The setups tend to fall into 2 camps:

1. Warm body approach: These dates are typically initiated by people who think- I know a single guy/girl with a pulse. I’m going to ask them to check out my friend.

*The racial variant to this approach is- I know a (insert race) guy/girl with a pulse. I’m going to ask them to check out my friend.

2. Good friend/acquaintance approach: These dates tend to be a little more thought-out.  Meaning, the person/people doing the matchmaking take into consideration the interests, background, age, etc. of the potential parties involved.

I have been on  a blind date. I was set up by a nurse from my doctor’s office.  Unfortunately, a love connection was not made, but I’d do again. After all, my parents, who’ve been married for over 40 years, met through a blind date.

What say you?

  • Have you done it?
  • Would you do it again?
  • Match made in Heaven or Hell?
  • Have you tried to play the matchmaker?
Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’ve never been on a blind date, but have had to nip in the bud the “I know a black guy” racial warm body variant. Come one, let’s at least talk about complimenting personality, okay?

    Reply
    • I have been pleasantly surprised. I’ve had a few open-minded folks who’ve not made race an issue. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jamy

     /  July 30, 2012

    Blind dates are an adventure! Worth the risk I would say, even for the bad ones.

    Reply
  3. Dena Panza

     /  August 29, 2012

    I have found my single friends to be very secretive or even defensive when asked about their dating lives. Therefore, I tend to stay out of these things….

    Reply
  4. Understood, blind dates can be touchy. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Christina

     /  September 9, 2012

    Yes…I was 17 and was set up by a good friend with a guy she met at her gym. It was awkward, awful! I willingly went to 1 speed dating event…it was awful as well…never again. Most of the guys were wierd. One guy went to the same high school I went to and was a player then and still is. I went with a guy friend from work and turns out he was interested in me and called me for a bootie call (I’m so not like this!) not 2 minutes upon dropping me off. Awkward!!! I know for sure I will never do speed dating again…but a blind date…it depends on who the friend is who doing the matchmaking. I don’t set people up, but usually when I pray about a guy I somewhat like looking for direction, God responds by giving them another girl. If only He would deliver when I petition for me! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

